unMasqed

Starting into making videos - help!

Hey all!

I'm trying to make sure that, along with getting more streams in per week, I'm getting at least 1-2 videos up on my channel per week. Unfortunately, I'm fairly new to the whole gameplay recording deal and I would love advice. Currently, I'm just recording games with OBS (since I want my overlays in the games I play), and I have no idea what other kinds of recording or editing software there is that'd be good for this. I'd love any advice, on software, video advice, anything.

All my links - Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, etc. - are on my profile for examples of what I'm doing right now.

Thank you!!

Hey There

I would say that OBS is definitely one of the more popular recording software's available. Primarily because it's free and easy enough to master.

I myself used OBS for some time but I was bottle necking in some games because of my cpu limitations.

As a result I opted to seek out a new recording software that utilized more GPU rather than CPU.

If you're going this route you have two options. Nvidia's Shadowplay and Mirillis Action! (https://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html)

Shadowplay is free but you need to be using an Nvida card. Mirellis Action is about $30.

Shadowplay

Pros:

Amazing video quality with 0 lag or stuttering

Cons: 

Cumbersome at times. Also, if you're using an older operating system like Windows 7 then your recording time is limited. I'm a windows 7 user and I noticed when I recorded it would only do 10-15 min videos at a time. So I essentially had 10+ files for a standard playthrough vs one large file. This was annoying to me. However, this would be worth revisiting because it may have been fixed or this might not apply to you if you're using a newer version of windows.

The best quality videos will be quite large. Comparable to OBS'S Lossless Quality.

When you alt tab out of the game there is a good chance that your recording will cease.